Cunningham Motorsports

"ARCA's Top Team, Earning Winning Results for
America's next Great Stock Car Racers"

Cunningham Motorsports Throughout its history Cunningham Motorsports has demonstrated a track tested ability to develop young talent and has become a well-respected, race team under the vision of team principals, Kerry Scherer & Briggs Cunningham and the NASCAR Championship winning direction of Crew Chief Paul Andrews.

As the official driver development partner for Penske Racing, Cunningham is the results driven, no-nonsense team in the ARCA series where racers go to gain the seat time and experience necessary to help them climb the next steps up the motorsports ladder.

Proof of this is that recent Cunningham graduates, Alex Bowman, Parker Kligerman, Dakoda Armstrong, Austin Wayne Self and Kyle Weatherman each earned ARCA Rookie of the Year Awards. Two of the five are now competing successfully in NASCAR's upper echelons.

Among other top notch racers who have developed and honed their skills at Cunningham are Chase Miller, Scott Lagasse Jr., Frank Kimmel and when it was time for his NASCAR debut, ex-Formula 1 race winner, Juan Pablo Montoya. During the 2013 season, current NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver, Ryan Blaney ran three races with the team as a means to gain experience on race tracks where he had little previous race time, as did Tyler Reddick in 2014.

The 2013 ARCA season saw the Cunningham organization return to a two car effort as Tom Hessert returned to the team, after finishing 3rd in the 2010 driver's championship with the team. Hessert completed the 2013 season 4th in championship points, earning one victory-at Salem Speedway. The team's second car had 10 different drivers throughout the season, including Austin Wayne Self, Anderson Bowen, Blaney and Scott Lagasse.

The 2014 racing season was another two-car effort with Tom Hessert and Austin Wayne Self performing the driving duties. Hessert earned his fourth ARCA Series victory at Talladega Superspeedway, under the guidance of crew chief Paul Andrews. Later in the season, he visited victory lane for the second time in 2014 at Salem Speedway with new crew chief, Kevin Caldwell. In addition to the checkered flags, Hessert finished 3rd in the ARCA Racing Series championship battle. Austin Wayne Self competed in 19 of the 20 races, with the exception of the Daytona International Speedway (due to age limits), earning Cunningham Motorsports' 4th ARCA Rookie of the Year award since 2009. Crew chief Chad Bryant guided the rookie this season, earning the Cometic Crew Chief award as a result of the team's performance.

During the 2015 season, the No. 22 Cunningham car grabbed three wins with three different drivers.Blake Jones at Talladega Superspeedway, Kyle Weatherman at New Jersey Motorsports Park and Trevor Bayne at Pocono Raceway. The Cunningham organization won the Bill France Four Crown award on the strength of Weatherman's and Jones' combined wins and two runner-up finishes by Weatherman. The No. 22 team finished second in the season-long car owner's points battle. Weatherman earned the SCOTT Rookie of the Year award, marking Cunningham's fifth rookie award in seven years. Tom Hessert piloted the No. 77 during the season, with seven top-5 finishes and twelve top-10 finishes. His crew chief, Chad Bryant took the Cometic Crew Chief Award for the second year in a row. Austin Cindric and Chase Briscoe made their ARCA Series debuts with Cindric finishing fourth at Iowa Speedway and Briscoe earning a fifth at Salem Speedway.

Cunningham saw tremendous success in the 2016 season. Rookie Chase Briscoe earned six wins throughout the season behind the when in the No. 77 car, leading the team to its first ARCA Racing Series Championship. The No. 22 car also saw success, taking two trips to victory lane with Myatt Snider behind the wheel at Toledo and Parker Kligerman at New Jersey Motorsports Park.

Looking ahead to the 2017 season, Cunningham has signed with two drivers to race the full season…Shane Lee and Dalton Sargeant. Lee competed in 10 ARCA events during the 2016 season, finishing the year with one top-5, five top-10s and one pole award. Sargeant took the field 15 times during the 2016 ARCA season, ending up with one win, 10 top-5s and 12 top-10s. That effort and success led Sargeant to earn the 2016 SCOTT Rookie of the Year Title. Both drivers have had success in the ARCA Racing Series as well as other racing endeavors and hope to bring Cunningham a second Series Championship.

Our Drivers

Dalton Sargeant info

Dalton Sargeant

Dalton Sargeant, from Boca Raton, Florida, began his racing career at the age of eight racing karts and bandeleros. Sargeant went on to win numerous Rotax karting events and championships. In 2012, at the age of 13, Dalton moved to Europe to compete in open wheel karting championships and even represented the United States in the Rotax World Championship in the United Arab Emirates.
Shane Lee info

Shane Lee

Shane Lee, a Newton, N.C. native, began racing go-karts in 2003 where he spent nine seasons competing in the highest and most prestigious karting events in the southeast.

Next Event

April 8, 2017


Lee Earns Career-Best Finish at Daytona with Cunningham Motorsports
February 21, 2017
MOORESVILLE, N.C. (Feb. 20, 2017) – Shane Lee has got a lot to look forward to this season if the rest of the year shapes up to be anything like Daytona. In his first race in the No. 22 Big Tine Ford Fusion for Cunningham Motorsports (CMS), Lee came away with a career-best finish of third on the 2.5-mile superspeedway in the Lucas Oil Complete Engine Treatment 200 Driven by General Tire.

Read entire article

Follow Cunningham Motorsports on their official twitter page-- @cunningham_race